RCIP in Brandon, Manitoba: How the Community Recommendation Works

Brandon is the most open RCIP process in Manitoba: rolling intake, no monthly windows, no points grid, no ranking. Fifteen percent of its 2026 allocation is reserved for health, and the rest is first come, first served. But open does not mean loose — Brandon has the most detailed community-specific rules of any RCIP community, from a single-full-time-job rule to an age lock-in for dependent children. This post explains the whole process as Economic Development Brandon publishes it.
Sources: Brandon RCIP — official site · Priority sectors and occupations · Designated employers · FAQ
Reach Newcomers to Canada
Banks, insurance, real estate, tax & accounting, telecom, healthcare & education. Ask about relevant native in-article placements.
Contact Us →The community and the program
The program is run by Economic Development Brandon (EDB). Contact: 204-729-2127, immigration@brandon.ca, 410 – 9th Street, Brandon, MB. Brandon was selected for RCIP on January 30, 2025, after EDB’s expression of interest, following its participation in the earlier RNIP.
Intake status: open. The Brandon RCIP is open for community recommendation applications on a rolling basis — there are no monthly intake windows. It started accepting applications on April 17, 2025.
Priority sectors — six for 2026
- Health
- Trades, transport and equipment operators
- Manufacturing and utilities
- Natural and applied sciences
- Education, law and social, community and government services
- Natural resources and agriculture (new in 2026; the other five are unchanged from 2025)
Priority occupations — 25 NOCs
| NOC | Occupation | TEER | Minimum CLB |
|---|---|---|---|
| 42202 | Early childhood educators and assistants — only Child Care Assistant, ECE II and ECE III eligible under this NOC | 2 | 5 |
| 31202 | Physiotherapists | 1 | 6 |
| 31100 | Specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine | 1 | 6 |
| 31101 | Specialists in surgery | 1 | 6 |
| 31102 | General practitioners and family physicians | 1 | 6 |
| 31301 | Registered nurses and registered psychiatric nurses | 1 | 6 |
| 32120 | Medical laboratory technologists | 2 | 5 |
| 32102 | Paramedical occupations | 2 | 5 |
| 32122 | Medical sonographers | 2 | 5 |
| 32121 | Medical radiation technologists | 2 | 5 |
| 33101 | Medical laboratory assistants and related technical occupations | 3 | 5 |
| 33102 | Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates | 3 | 5 |
| 94141 | Industrial butchers and meat cutters, poultry preparers and related workers | 4 | 4 |
| 21300 | Civil engineers | 1 | 6 |
| 21321 | Industrial and manufacturing engineers | 1 | 6 |
| 21310 | Electrical and electronics engineers | 1 | 6 |
| 22300 | Civil engineering technologists and technicians | 2 | 5 |
| 22221 | User support technicians | 2 | 5 |
| 72204 | Telecommunications line and cable installers and repairers | 2 | 5 |
| 72400 | Construction millwrights and industrial mechanics | 2 | 5 |
| 72401 | Heavy-duty equipment mechanics | 2 | 5 |
| 72410 | Automotive service technicians, truck and bus mechanics and mechanical repairers | 2 | 5 |
| 72310 | Carpenters | 2 | 5 |
| 72402 | Heating, refrigeration and air conditioning mechanics | 2 | 5 |
| 75110 | Construction trades helpers and labourers | 5 | 4 |
Two things to note about this table. First, the published table lists “Natural resources and agriculture” as a priority sector but carries no occupation under it. Second, some secondary sources list a different Brandon 25 — that list does not match the official EDB table above, and the EDB table governs.
Allocation and ranking. Fifteen percent of Brandon’s 2026 allocation is reserved for the health sector; the remainder is first come, first served. There is no scoring grid and no points system in Brandon. The total 2026 allocation number is not stated on any official EDB page. The priority list is reviewed twice a year.
Case-by-case exemption. An occupation inside a priority sector but not on the approved list may be considered at the program’s discretion — the employer must demonstrate local labour availability, candidate qualifications, job requirements and economic, social or health benefit. The published example is Dentist (NOC 31110), unlisted but in the Health sector.
How the process works
Step 1 — Research Brandon. Applying declares your intent to live in Brandon permanently.
Step 2 — Confirm IRCC eligibility and secure a job offer. Use EDB’s online self-assessment questionnaire, and secure a qualifying job offer from a designated employer in a priority occupation.
Start your secure Immigration intake
Skip the back-and-forth. Complete a structured intake in 25 minutes. Reviewed by Dimple Verma, RCIC-IRB. No payment required to start.
Step 3 — The employer submits the community recommendation application on your behalf, using the official RCIP document checklist. Several documents must be supplied by the worker to the employer. Employer designation comes first if the employer is not already designated.
Step 4 — Possible community suitability interview, by Microsoft Teams or in person at the EDB office.
Step 5 — The Immigration Recommendation Committee decides, and the decision is communicated to the worker and the employer.
Step 6 — If approved, EDB emails the Recommendation Certificate (form IMM 0249). Apply for PR to IRCC immediately: an expired certificate cannot be reused if IRCC returns the PR application, and failing to apply promptly may lead to revocation. A recommendation does not guarantee PR — IRCC decides. Note on validity: the June 2026 EDB checklist states the certificate is valid 6 months, but that predates the permanent regulations, under which certificates are valid 12 months. The regulations govern.
Step 7 — Optional work permit. An employer-specific work permit valid 24 months, typically 3–4 months to process. The employer generates a job-offer number in IRCC’s employer portal and pays a $230 IRCC compliance fee — the employer must not charge this to the worker. In-Canada applicants may apply right after submitting PR; outside-Canada applicants after receiving the Acknowledgement of Receipt. Visitors in Canada can only apply for this work permit from outside Canada. Work-permit codes published in the FAQ: principal applicant C15; spouse or common-law open work permit C17; dependent child open work permit C49.
Employer designation
Designation is free — there is no application fee. Employers must have operated continuously under the same management for 2 years within the Brandon RCIP boundaries (exemption only for businesses relocating to Brandon that operated 2 or more years elsewhere and whose relocation substantially contributes to Brandon’s economy). Two cost-free online trainings are mandatory before designation: IRCC employer onboarding and intercultural competency training. Employers previously designated under RNIP must apply again for RCIP, and RNIP position approvals do not carry over — a new position approval is required. No LMIA is required, but EDB analyses every position and employers are expected to prioritize citizens and permanent residents.
Designated employers
The published list has about 40 employers, including Prairie Mountain Health, Brandon Clinic, Western Medical Clinic, The Wellness Clinic, Saputo, Koch Fertilizer, Canada Packers, City of Brandon and the YMCA of Brandon. The list itself warns that not all listed employers are hiring — several are designated only to support existing employees. Prairie Mountain Health qualifies only for positions in Brandon (not its other sites) and only for candidates already licensed in Canada, with a minimum of 30 guaranteed hours per week. The Wellness Clinic, Brandon Clinic and Western Medical Clinic are actively seeking family physicians and specialists.
Rules that differ from the federal baseline
- One full-time job, not two part-time jobs. The job must be a single full-time position: minimum 30 guaranteed hours per week, permanent, with no end date. Two part-time jobs totalling 30 hours with the same employer do not qualify. Casual work does not qualify even if it often exceeds 30 hours.
- Long-haul truck drivers are likely ineligible — the majority of the work must be performed within the community, and the position must be on the priority list.
- Dependent-child age lock-in. The child’s age is locked on the date EDB receives the complete and error-free community recommendation application. A child under 22 and unmarried on that date stays eligible.
- Restoration of status. Applicants awaiting a restoration decision are not eligible until restoration is approved.
- Education. A CAEC High School Equivalency Certificate does not satisfy the education requirement; an adult high-school diploma recognized by its province does.
- Self-employed work experience counts only if gained as a medical practitioner — relevant to general practitioners, who are often self-employed or on contract.
- No dual applications. A worker cannot have applications in both RCIP and Brandon’s Southwestern Manitoba Immigration Initiative (SWMII) at once.
- No appointments. EDB no longer schedules appointments for prospective applicants due to demand; email immigration@brandon.ca only for questions not answered on the website.
- Limited job-matching service. EDB offers a limited job-matching service through an online form — the one exception to the program-wide rule that communities do not match candidates with jobs. Family physicians trained in Ireland, the UK, the US or Australia may email a résumé directly.
Fees
RCIP is free for employers. The only fee stated is the employer’s $230 IRCC work-permit compliance fee. Whether the community charges the candidate any fee is not stated on official pages.
What to do next
- Confirm your occupation is on the official EDB table — not a secondary list — and that the employer is designated.
- Make sure the job is a single full-time permanent position of at least 30 guaranteed hours per week.
- Use the self-assessment questionnaire before the employer submits, and gather the worker-supplied documents early — the employer cannot submit without them.
- If approved, apply to IRCC immediately. Do not let the certificate sit.
- Do not apply to RCIP and SWMII at the same time.
Frequently asked questions
Does Brandon use a points system? No. Fifteen percent of the 2026 allocation is reserved for health; the rest is first come, first served.
Is there an intake window? No. Brandon accepts recommendation applications on a rolling basis.
Can two part-time jobs with the same employer add up to a qualifying job? No. The job must be one full-time permanent position of at least 30 guaranteed hours per week.
I was designated under RNIP. Do I need to apply again? Yes. RNIP designation and position approvals do not carry over to RCIP.
Does a recommendation guarantee permanent residence? No. It unlocks the PR application; IRCC makes the final decision.
How VG Immigration Services can help
If Brandon is your community — or you are deciding between communities — book a consultation at vgis.ca or WhatsApp 416-578-9269. We check your occupation against the official EDB table, confirm the job meets the single-full-time-position rule, and prepare the PR application once a recommendation is in hand.



